New Year’s Resolutions…

I admit, it is almost the end of January, but still, I do have some new year’s resolutions…

But first a bit about myself… I’m Elke, 33 years old, and born and raised in Belgium. The last couple of years, a lot has happened in my life, and I feel that talking about it, or writing, helps me a lot…

In April 2010, I was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, called Pseudomyxoma Peritonei (or PMP). This disease, which originates in the appendix, only occurs in 1 in a million… It’s like winning the lottery, only not…
It’s what killed Audrey Hepburn. 20 years ago, the medical options were very limited…

The cancer has had a huge impact on me, both fysically and psychologically… Since my first diagnosis, I have been operated on three times, of which two times with a procedure called HIPEC. To explain simply, they insert heated chemo in your abdomen and ‘marinate it’ (that’s how my surgeon explained it to me). They have taken out a lot of body parts, but I’m still functioning ok :-)… And I want to thank everybody who has been there for me: my parents (love you <3!!), my family, my friends, my doctors and nursing staff at the Middelheim hospital in Antwerp: without all of you I couldn’t have gotten through this!

It’s been a long healing process, and it’s still going on, but I’d like to think that it has also given me something… You look at life in a different manner… Trivial things don’t matter as much… You have more of an ease… But I still do have feelings… Things still upset me and I’m a very emotional creature…

My last check-up was in December, and things looked very good!!

So at the beginning of 2012, a reason to draft up some new year’s resolutions!! Here they are:
1. Start to blog (well, here it is :-): I will talk about my cancer, but I’m more than just this disease… So I will try to say something else as well: politics (in a country that has enough politicians to fill up the hole in the ozone layer, that shouldn’t be too hard ;-), economics (sorry, also depressing…), culture, or the little joys of life (e.g. chocolate, my cat, shopping, …)

2. start a website: this is a little project of mine, which I hope to come to soon. I’ll let you know…

3. exercise! I do have a wii fit, but the board seems to have a happier time in the spare room than in front of my tv… I have thought about taking up running, but I have to drag myself out of the door… any tips are welcome…

4. eat healthier… but that little piece of chocolate is so tempting… so are those french fries (obviously not in that order…)

5. visit japan: a longtime dream of mine… love the culture, speak a tiny bit of japanese (have to freshen that up soon!)

6. laugh a lot… I guess you guys can help me with that… (things that make me laugh: e.g. my cat, my godchild, dr. house, the republican caucus, …)

I don’t know if I can realise my resolutions. Maybe with your help, I can come a long way…

photo of myself

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions…

  1. Sounds good Elke. Nice resolutions also! Hope you can fulfill your dreams and let nothing come in between. Wish you all the BEST! Go for it girl.x

Leave a Reply

